PCI DSS Compliance: What Do SAQ, AoC, and RoC stand for?

Information and TechnologyPCI DSS Compliance: What Do SAQ, AoC, and RoC stand for?

The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard, as known as PCI DSS, was launched as a classic safety necessity for all entities that store, operate, or transfer the information of the cardholders. 

PCI DSS compliance enables you to verify your safety responsibility and secure your customers that their cardholder details are secured. When you encounter a PCI DSS audit, you are checking your organization’s systems and procedures under the 12 technological and functional conditions created up of about 400 particular controls specified by the PCI Security Standards Council to secure cardholder information.

What you need as an entity that store, operate, or transfer cardholder data; from a PCI DSS audit is to specify your organization’s merchant class since there are three parts to a PCI DSS audit. 

Let’s check out the differences between a PCI DSS Self-Assessment Questionnaire (SAQ), Attestation of Compliance (AoC), and Report on Compliance (RoC).

What is a The Payment Card Industry Self-Assessment Questionnaire (PCI SAQ)?

The Payment Card Industry Self-Assessment Questionnaire is an instrument operated to document an institution’s self-assessment of their safety procedures regarding cardholder information. There are 9 separate SAQ classifications that use variably to diverse institutions relying on how they process, manage, and store cardholder data, including:

  1. SAQ A
  2. SAQ A-EP
  3. SAQ B
  4. SAQ B-IP
  5. SAQ C-VT
  6. SAQ C
  7. SAQ P2PE-HW
  8. SAQ D for Merchants
  9. SAQ D for Service Providers

These questionnaires assist to decide which PCI DSS compliance conditions apply to your association and how your existing strategies align with those safety essentials. Although each of the SAQ types has distinct objectives, your institution can assess which applies most suitable to you so that you can acquire an AOC.

What is the Payment Card Industry Attestation of Compliance (PCI AoC)?

The Payment Card Industry Attestation of Compliance (AoC) is just that, an attestation conducted by a Qualified Security Assessor (QSA) that expresses an institution’s PCI DSS submission situation. An AoC is recorded proof that an institution has maintained safety most suitable procedures to secure cardholder information. Essentially, an AoC is a written expression that your institution has satisfied the relevant SAQ and been confirmed by a QSA.

If your institution is a merchant, the provisions for an SAQ, AoC, and RoC differ relying on your PCI status of compliance. We’ve documented an intro on the 4 PCI merchant classes for you to guide to when deciding your own class of observation. Alike to the SAQ, there are further interpretations of the AoC which overlap with the versioning for the SAQ. Whichever interpretation of the SAQ your institution finalizes, the exact interpretation can be specified beneficial for your AoC.

What is the Payment Card Industry Report on Compliance (PCI RoC)?

A PCI Report on Compliance (RoC) is administered by a QSA and describes an institution’s safety stance, circumstances, procedures, and security of cardholder information. The RoC is created via a comprehensive examination conducted by a QSA that contains an onsite audit and assessment of management. After an auditor tests your management and receives documentation of your procedures, an overview of results is formed which tops in a final RoC.

Every RoC is classified according to the PCI Security Standards Council’s determinations for a capable RoC which is emanated from the RoC Reporting Template delivered to all QSAs. The standardization of reporting lets your institution deliver every stakeholder, customer, or interested party with a precise indication of your situation on PCI submission.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles